TDas Awards at Metropolitan Museum

  • Friday, March 06, 2015
  • 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sacerdote Lecture Hall, use 81St St Entrance
  • 16


Registration is closed

Join us for a special SAJA event in a special venue!

Can attend? Can't attend? Make a donation to support SAJA on this wonderful occasion:

Taraknath Das Foundation Presents
Its Annual Award

Sree Sreenivasan

SAJA, South Asian Journalists Association

for contributions to

Indo-American understanding


Champagne Reception at the Met

Friday, March 6, 2015

6:00-8 p.m. plus visit to the galleries, which are open till 9 pm
Remarks and ceremony at 6:45 p.m.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Sacderdote Lecture Hall 

Use 81st & Fifth Ave Education Entrance 





Sree Sreenivasan has spent the last two decades working to promote better connections between the United States and South Asia.  As co-founder and first president of SAJA, the South Asia Journalists Association, he helped bring together a community of journalists at the exact time that the community of Indians and other South Asians changed in fascinating ways. Since 2013, he has been the first Chief Digital Officer of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. He spent more than 21 years at Columbia Journalism School and Columbia University as a professor, dean of student affairs and, eventually, as Columbia's first Chief Digital Officer. He has been named by Newsweek as one of the 40 most influential South Asians in the US; by India Abroad as one of the 50 most influential Indians in America and by GQ India as one of the 30 most influential digital Indians globally. Besides his professional duties, Sree has been most helpful to the Foundation over the years, and we feel that he is one of the most extraordinarily helpful and valuable members of the South Asian community in the United States.


SAJA, the South Asian Journalists Associationis a thriving organization working in the U.S. and Canada. Founded in March 1994 with 18 members, today it connects and serves more than 1,000 journalists and is a resource for those covering South Asia and the South Asian diaspora. Even as more South Asians have risen to the top ranks of US journalism, SAJA continues to play a role mentoring young media professionals and bringing attention to little-covered stories in the community. In recent years, SAJA has given away more than $250,000 in scholarships and awards and will be giving away $60,000 again this year through the support of the Arun I. and Asmita Bhatia Foundation and other donors; and more than $20,000 for the landmark SAJA Reporting Fellowships through the support of the Mahadeva Family Foundation. Other donors include CNN & Turner Broadcasting Corporation, Bloomberg, Dow Jones Foundation, Coca-Cola Company, New World Medical Group and Gaur Family Foundation. 


ABOUT THE TARAKNATH DAS FOUNDATION & THE TARAKNATH DAS AWARD: Started in 1935, it gives grants to South Asian students in the U.S. and to small NGOs in India. The annual award, given since 1982, is for outstanding contributions to US-India understanding. Winners are most often individuals, but sometimes, they are institutions. Among its awardees are Anita Desai; Merchant, Ivory and Jhabvala; Abraham Verghese; Amar Bose; and RK Narayan.



>> 1982: R. K. Narayan, writer

>> 1983: Robert F. Goheen, diplomat

>> 1984: A. K. Ramanujan, poet, translator, scholar, teacher

>> 1985: Edward C. Dimock, Jr., scholar, translator, teacher

>> 1986: Merchant, Ivory, Jhabvala, film-makers

>> 1987: S. Chandrasekhar, scientist, teacher

>> 1988: Stella Kramrisch, art historian, teacher

>> 1989: Anita Desai, writer

>> 1991: World Music Institute

>> 1992: Indrani, dancer and dance teacher

>> 1993: Madhur Jaffrey, actress, author

>> 1994: Bernard S. Cohn, anthropologist, scholar, teacher

>> 1995: Phillips Talbot, journalist, diplomat

>> 1996: Amar G. Bose, audio-engineer, teacher, businessman

>> 1997: Myron Weiner, political scientist, scholar, teacher

>> 1998: Tanjore Viswanathan, musician, teacher

>> 1999: Ainslie T. Embree, historian, teacher, administrator

>> 2000: Bharati Mukherjee, writer

>> 2001: Selig Harrison, scholar, journalist

>> 2002: Abraham Verghese, doctor, writer

>> 2003: Joseph Elder, scholar, administrator, film maker

>> 2005: Sakhi for South Asian Women

>> 2008: Gopal Raju, founder of India Abroad

>> 2010: The American Institute of Indian Studies

>> 2012: Dr. Siddartha Mukherjee, author, oncologist, Pulitzer Prize winner

>> 2014: Sree Sreenivasan, teacher and connector

               SAJA, South Asian Journalists Association 

Can attend? Can't attend? Make a donation to support SAJA on this wonderful occasion:

© SAJA | South Asian Journalists Association | Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software